2024-25 NFHS
WRESTLING
RULES INTERPRETATIONS

Publisher’s Note: The National Federation of State High School Associations is the only source of official high school interpretations. They do not set
aside nor modify any rule. They are made and published by the NFHS in response to situations presented.

SITUATION 1: Is the 10-foot circle
in the center of the wrestling mat re-
quired? RULING: No, the 10-foot cir-
cle in the center of the wrestling mat is
now optional. (2-1-3)

SITUATION 2: Can each team in a tour-
nament bring its own scales to weigh-in
its contestants? RULING: No, the home
management shall provide scales for
weighing-in contestants. (2-4-1)

SITUATION 3: Is the referee required
to meet with the head coaches before
the start of a dual meet or tournament?
RULING: Yes, the referee is required to
meet with the coaches to verify that the
team is groomed, properly equipped
and ready to wrestle, including shoelac-
es being secured. In a dual meet, the ref-
eree also meets with the head coaches to
explain to them about good sportsman-
ship throughout the contest. (3-1-4, 3-1-5)

SITUATION 4: Can a wrestler wearing
tights remove one leg of the form-fitted
tights? RULING: No, the form-fitted
tights cannot be modified; both legs
must be intact. (4-1-1a, b)

SITUATION 5: Can a tournament man-
ager or dual meet host create “blocked
weights” for the contestants to use for
competition? RULING: No, wrestlers
must compete in the weight classification
selected by their state association. (4-4-1)

SITUATION 6: Does awarding an
escape require two points of contact
of either wrestler or one point of con-
tact of both wrestlers to be inbounds?
RULING: No, an escape can be award-
ed while one point of contact of either
wrestler is inbounds. (5-10)

SITUATION 7: Can the referee award
a five-point near fall? RULING: Yes, if
the four-point near fall is earned and
during the near-fall situation the de-
fensive wrestler is injured, indicates an
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injury or the defensive wrestler starts
to bleed or the defensive wrestler com-
mits a violation. (5-11-2h, 1)

SITUATION 8: Is a technical fall
awarded when the pinning situation
ends or at the conclusion of the near-fall
criteria? RULING: The technical fall is
awarded when near-fall criteria are no
longer met. (5-11-4)

SITUATION 9: Does a point of contact
have to bear weight? RULING: No, the
point of contact may or may not bear
the wrestler’s weight. (5-15-2)

SITUATION 10: Can a defensive wres-
tler be pinned while the shoulder or
scapula are out of bounds? RULING:
Yes, near-fall points or fall shall be
earned while a point of contact of either
wrestler is inbounds. (Rule 5-15-2¢)

SITUATION 11: Can a reversal be
awarded if either wrestler only has one
foot inbounds? RULING: Yes, a rever-
sal at the edge of the mat can be award-
ed with one point of contact of either
wrestler inbounds. (5-22-2)

SITUATION 12: If the wrestling mat
doesn’t contain a 10-foot circle, can ei-
ther wrestler be called for stalling for
not wrestling aggressively in the mid-
dle of the mat? RULING: Yes, each
wrestler is required to make an honest
attempt to stay in the center of the mat
and wrestle aggressively. (5-24-1)

SITUATION 13: How many points
will be awarded for a takedown at
the edge of the mat? RULING: Three
points will be awarded for each se-
cured takedown. (9-1-2)

SITUATION 14: If a wrestler presents
written documentation as defined by
the NFHS or respective state associa-
tion from an appropriate health-care
professional stating that the wrestler

can compete with the communicable
condition as long as the condition is
covered, is this acceptable? RULING:
No, covering a communicable condi-
tion shall not be considered acceptable
and does not make the wrestler eligible
to participate. (4-2-3)

SITUATION 15: Can a wrestler accept
a forfeit in one weight class and then
wrestle a match one weight class above
the wrestler’s scratch weight? RUL-
ING: A wrestler cannot accept a forfeit
in one weight class and compete in an-
other class in the same meet. (1-4-5)

SITUATION 16: Are satellite weigh-ins
permissible? RULING: No, contestants
shall have the opportunity to weigh in,
shoulder-to-shoulder for dual meets
and tournaments. (4-5-1, 4-5-2)

SITUATION 17: Can a wrestler who
properly reports for a weight class in
a dual meet be withdrawn and used to
wrestle at the next weight class? RUL-
ING: No, if Wrestler A properly re-
ports to the scorer’s table in a dual meet
and is withdrawn, Wrestler A would be
disqualified from that dual meet. (5-8)

SITUATION 18: Who is responsible for
the removal of a spectator who has been
ejected by the referee? RULING: The
home team administration is responsi-
ble to ensure the spectator is removed
when directed by the referee. (5-30-3)

SITUATION 19: If one point of contact
of either wrestler is inside or on the
boundary line, can the referee stop the
match? RULING: Yes, the referee can
stop the match if there is no action at
the edge of the mat. (5-15-3)

SITUATION 20: When can the referee
use the referee’s time-out? RULING:
The referee can use the referee time-out
to address a situation not covered by
any other time-out. (5-28-4)



